Skip to main content
Free public test. No payment or card is required to use Bay Sale Ready. Official city or agency fees and third-party costs are separate.
BRBay SaleReady
CitiesCoverage & updatesAbout & methodology
Oakland guide
Home / Oakland / Oakland sidewalk compliance certificate cost and official fees

Oakland · Sidewalk certificate fees

Oakland sidewalk compliance certificate cost and official fees

Oakland's current FAQ publishes a certificate intake fee and points to the City Master Fee Schedule. This page separates that agency fee from any inspection, permit, or repair cost and does not estimate a property-specific total.

General information onlyNo property outcomeOfficial sources controlSale-triggered topic to verify

Site-wide source review checkpoint: July 27, 2026. 62 registered sources were in that completed cycle; individual source records may be newer. Information may have changed since our last review. Verify current requirements and status directly with the responsible agency before relying on it.

Quick official-source answer

What the official sources publish

  • Read the amount published in the City FAQ: The current FAQ says the standard OakDOT Permit Intake Fee plus the 14.75% Records and Technology Fee totaled $109.01 as of September 2025. City of Oakland · OakDOT ↗
  • Check the current Master Fee Schedule: The FAQ directs readers to the City's current Master Fee Schedule because agency fees may change after the FAQ's dated example. City of Oakland ↗
  • Keep other costs separate: The City FAQ says a separate repair permit fee applies when sidewalk repair work is required. Inspection, professional, and construction amounts are not stated as one fixed certificate total. City of Oakland · OakDOT ↗
On this page: official starting point · process · limits · sources · seller questions

Start with the official source

Search Oakland's permit records, then ask OakDOT to confirm the certificate information before ordering an inspection or work.

Verify at the official source ↗

Opening a record or portal does not mean that Bay Sale Ready has determined coverage, validity, responsibility, or whether a transaction may close.

General order of questions

  1. Read the amount published in the City FAQ

    Bay Sale Ready summary of the linked City of Oakland · OakDOT source: The current FAQ says the standard OakDOT Permit Intake Fee plus the 14.75% Records and Technology Fee totaled $109.01 as of September 2025.

    Verify at official source: Sidewalk Certification FAQ ↗
  2. Check the current Master Fee Schedule

    Bay Sale Ready summary of the linked City of Oakland source: The FAQ directs readers to the City's current Master Fee Schedule because agency fees may change after the FAQ's dated example.

    Verify at official source: City of Oakland Master Fee Schedules ↗
  3. Keep other costs separate

    Bay Sale Ready summary of the linked City of Oakland · OakDOT source: The City FAQ says a separate repair permit fee applies when sidewalk repair work is required. Inspection, professional, and construction amounts are not stated as one fixed certificate total.

    Verify at official source: Sidewalk Certification FAQ ↗

Important limits to keep in view

  • Source-linked caution from City of Oakland · OakDOT: The $109.01 figure is the FAQ's September 2025 published total, not a quote or a current calculation by Bay Sale Ready.

    Verify at the official source: Sidewalk Certification FAQ ↗
  • Source-linked caution from City of Oakland · OakDOT: A certificate intake fee is separate from a repair permit and from any private inspection or construction arrangement.

    Verify at the official source: Sidewalk Certification FAQ ↗

Official instructions and records

These links come from the same reviewed source register used by the guide. The last completed registered-source review cycle ended on July 27, 2026 and covered 62 sources; each card shows its own review date, including newer additions.

Show all 2 reviewed official sources
City of Oakland · OakDOT

Sidewalk Certification FAQ

Agency page; no publication date shown · Last reviewed by Bay Sale Ready July 18, 2026

Verify at the official source ↗
City of Oakland

City of Oakland Master Fee Schedules

City index includes the FY 2026–27 adopted schedule · Last reviewed by Bay Sale Ready July 25, 2026

Verify at the official source ↗

Frequently asked questions

Questions to verify, not legal conclusions

How much is an Oakland sidewalk compliance certificate?

The City FAQ says the standard intake fee plus its Records and Technology Fee totaled $109.01 as of September 2025. Check the live City schedule for the amount in effect when filing. Verify at the official source: City of Oakland · OakDOT ↗

Is the Oakland sidewalk repair permit included in the certificate fee?

No single bundled amount is published on the FAQ. The City says a separate Curb, Gutter, Sidewalk repair permit fee applies when repair work is required. Verify at the official source: City of Oakland · OakDOT ↗

Where can I find current Oakland sidewalk fees?

Oakland maintains a Master Fee Schedule index for current departmental schedules. Use it with the FAQ because the FAQ's total is tied to September 2025. Verify at the official source: City of Oakland ↗

Does Bay Sale Ready calculate my total sidewalk cost?

No. The official materials separate the certificate intake fee from possible permit, inspection, professional, and repair costs. Verify at the official source: City of Oakland · OakDOT ↗

Continue with Bay Sale Ready

  • Oakland sidewalk certificate transfer exceptions
  • Oakland provisional sidewalk certificate and 120-day period
  • Oakland home-sale source guide
BR
Bay Sale Ready

Clear starting steps for a complicated closing.

OaklandBerkeleyHaywardSan JoséSan FranciscoAboutUpdatesContactPrivacyTerms

During public testing, Bay Sale Ready charges no fee to use this independent informational website. No payment or card is required. Future access terms may change prospectively. Official city or agency fees and third-party costs are separate and are not paid to Bay Sale Ready. The site is not affiliated with or endorsed by any city, government agency, utility, licensing board, or professional appearing in a linked external resource. It does not provide legal, real estate, engineering, inspection, contracting, or compliance services. Requirements and professional status can change. Confirm current requirements with the responsible agency and verify current professional status before acting.

Published coverage: Oakland, Berkeley, Hayward, San José, and San Francisco. This is selected coverage, not a complete inventory of local requirements.

Site-wide source review checkpoint: July 27, 2026. 62 registered sources were in that completed cycle; individual source records may be newer. Information may have changed since our last review. Verify current requirements and status directly with the responsible agency before relying on it.

Official source changed or link broken? Email the page URL and source URL to hello@baysaleready.com. Do not include property or transaction details.